Rejuvenation After Exercise

Most people dread exercise in one form or another we have started to notice. We cannot see how this works out. For us, exercise and physical activity give us a “high” very often. We believe maybe just because it is easier to sit on the couch and do nothing than it is to move that people dislike the idea of moving. To help prevent this, we have not only found joy in exercise, but we have found goals, challenges, and many pursuits which all can lead to a bit of a high inspiration.

I feel rejuvenated post workout recently. I do know that I enjoy exercise more than most people, but this is because I have found a source of fulfillment in what I am doing. It is good for the environment, my health, inspiring others and so on. Sometimes I get such a boost of energy after a workout that it ignites my whole day in fact. Of course, not every day is sunshine and rainbows because I definitely do have my days; however, I push through the hard ones and rejoice in times of triumph. My rejuvenation today was a bit of runner’s high. I tend to get this after running a short distance and then unleashing sprints. Whatever it is you do to find rejuvenation and get an exercise high, go for it and you will be thankful.

Recently I have even found that exercising in the morning is the best medicine for a good day; however, I am still taking my baby steps towards changing my routine from evening to morning or at least earlier in the day. The morning seems to be the ideal time because it wakes us, stimulates us. It prepares not only our body for more movement throughout the day but also gives our brain proper blood flow to trigger our thoughts. Also, exercise in the morning seems to trigger a “go-get-it” attitude for the rest of the day. I lean on this because I have always had a problem sustaining energy throughout the day. Jess has most often times exercised of the morning, and I can tell that she benefits greatly from it. Hopefully I can begin to move in that direction.

Not only giving me a high, exercising in the morning is easier than exercising later in the evening. Wait, you say, did I really just say that? Yes, indeed I did. Now this does not mean the first thing you have to do after you drag your butt out of bed is put on running shoes, chug an energy bar, and stretch your muscles. I suggest moving slowly at first. Eat something or get a drink, specifically coffee in my case along with water. Let your body open up to the new day and get the grogginess away. Basically you will be putting the bad part of the morning here. You know, the part that most people dread. After a bit of an awakened state, I suggest movement. Push yourself now and relax a bit after. You will feel rejuvenated.

Exercising in the evening is not all bad, though. I actually suggest another bout of exercise a few hours before sleep. This gets your body tired and ready to go into bed as long as you make sure it is two hours or more before bed. The main reason to avoid doing all of your workouts and movement in the evening dwindles down to the lack of motivation. Most people have worked eight or more hours, taken kids to soccer practice, commuted a long, boring way to work, or whatever other daily things you are doing. Sometimes these can smash down our motivation and prevent us from exercising to our full potential or even at all.

If the morning is not your thing, then exercising in the evening is fine. Movement is movement and any movement is better than no movement. To boost your exercise routine in the next couple days, try to find your “runners’ high” so to speak in whatever activity you are doing. Rejuvenation afterwards is always a good motivator.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mental, Physical, Spiritual

Leave a Reply

